III Outstanding Contributions Honorees

The III Outstanding Contributions Award honors a person who reflects prominent, distinguished and exceptional service to the field of insolvency and to the insolvency community. Congratulations to the International Insolvency Institute Outstanding Contributions Honorees:

2022  Daniel M. Glosband, Goodwin Procter, Boston
2021  (no awardee)
2020  Lord Justice David Richards, Royal Courts of Justice, London, read his remarks here.
2019  Prof. Christoph G. Paulus, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin
2018  Hon. James M. Peck (Ret.), Morrison & Foerster, New York
2017  Michael Crystal, Q.C., Gray’s Inn, London
2016  Hon. Allan Gropper, U.S. Bankruptcy Court (Ret.), New York
2015  President Luciano Panzani, Court of Appeals, Rome
2014  Prof. Jay L. Westbrook, University of Texas, Austin
2013  Richard Gitlin, Gitlin & Company, LLC, Delray Beach
2012  John Barrett, Norton Rose Fulbright, Houston
2011  Hon. Burton R. Lifland, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, New York
2010  Lucio Ghia, Studio Legale Ghia, Rome
2009  Lord Leonard Hoffman, House of Lords, London
2008  Dr. Manfred Balz, Lazard, Frankfurt
2007  Hon. James M. Farley, Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Retired), Toronto
2006  Dr. Gerold Herrmann, Past Secretary, UNCITRAL, Vienna
2005  Dr. Shinjiro Takagi, Past Chair, Industrial Revitalization Corporation of Japan, Tokyo
2004  Prof. Geoffrey Hazard, Immediate Past Executive Director, The American Law Institute, San Francisco

III Founder’s Award

The Founder’s Award is in honor of International Insolvency Institute founder E. Bruce Leonard (1944-2017). Bruce was a leading light in the world of Canadian and cross-border insolvency law, well-known both in his home town of Toronto and internationally through his numerous leadership roles in professional groups, particularly the III. The Founder’s Award is bestowed in his honor to a member who, through their efforts over the years, has made a substantial contribution to further the goals, mission, and work of the International Insolvency Institute. 

Congratulations to the International Insolvency Institute Founder’s Award Honorees:

2022 Thomas Benes Felsberg
2021  (no awardee)
2020  Hon. Charles (“Chuck”) G. Case II, U.S. Bankruptcy Court (Ret.), Santa Fe
click here for Chuck’s remarks and here for Steven Kargman’s presentation to Chuck
2019  Prof. Rosalind Mason, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane
2018  Donald S. Bernstein, Davis Polk & Wardwell, New York
2017  Leonard H. Gilbert, Holland & Knight LLP, Tampa
2016  Dr. Shinjiro Takagi, Frontier Management, Inc., Tokyo