Insolvency Institute

2018 III PRIZE in International Insolvency Studies

Deadline March 31, 2018

The International Insolvency Institute is pleased to announce its 2018 Prize in International Insolvency Studies. The Prize in International Insolvency Studies comprises a Gold Medal Prize for the winning submission as well as a Silver Medal Prize, a Bronze Medal Prize, and several Finalist Prizes. The Prizes are accompanied by an honorarium for the Medal winners. 

The III Prize is awarded for original legal research, commentary or analysis on topics of international insolvency and restructuring significance and on comparative international analysis of domestic insolvency and restructuring issues and developments. The Prize Competition is open to full and parttime undergraduate and graduate students and to practitioners in practice for nine years or less. Entries must not have been published and must be available to be posted on the International Insolvency Institute website at Medal-winning entries will be considered for publication in the Norton Journal of Bankruptcy Law and Practice (West) and for inclusion in the Westlaw electronic database. Entries may be of any length but a limit of 20,000 - 30,000 words is preferred. Entries must be received by March 31, 2018.  

Entries will be judged by a distinguished panel of leading international insolvency academics and practitioners. The Jury will include Co-Chairs Professor Christoph Paulus, Humboldt University, Berlin, Professor Jay L. Westbrook, University of Texas, Austin and Hon. Samuel L. Bufford, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania and our distinguished Members, Professor Edward Janger, Brooklyn Law School, Brooklyn, Professor Matthias Haentjens, Leiden Law School, Professor Stephan Madaus, Martin-Luther University, Halle, Germany, Professor Rosalind Mason, Queensland University of Technology , Brisbane, Professor Junichi Matsushita, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Professor Riz Mokal, University College, London, Professor John A.E. Pottow, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Professor Jingxia (Josie) Shi, China University of International Business & Economics, Beijing, and Professor Ulrik Rammeskow Bang-Pedersen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark. 

The Gold Medal winner will be honoured at the III’s Eighteenth Annual International Insolvency Conference in New York on September 23-25, 2018. All Medal Winners and Finalists will be invited to attend the Conference and will be provided with complementary Conference registration. Medal Winners will also be nominated to Class VII of the III NextGen Leadership Program which will convene in New York in September, 2018 during the III’s 2018 Conference. For further details and the terms of the III Prize in International Insolvency Studies, please contact Franca Tibando, Executive Director of the International Insolvency Institute NextGen Leadership Program, (telephone) 416-918-7301 or (email)

Summary of Terms and Conditions 

The International Insolvency Institute ( will award its 2018 Prize in International Insolvency Studies, for outstanding writing, research or analysis in the insolvency field. The terms of the 2018 Prize Competition are as follows: 

1.  Candidates must be full or part-time undergraduate or graduate students, researchers or practitioners in practice for less than nine years.  
2.  The article or research must be on an international or comparative insolvency topic and must be submitted in English.  
3.  Articles or research in preparation for publication are eligible as long as they have not been published by March 31, 2018. 
4.  Candidates may submit only one contribution whether as author or co-author. 
5.  The Jury may decide not to award the Prize if, in its opinion, no contribution of sufficient quality has been submitted.  
6.  Entries must be eligible and available to be posted on the III website and published in the Journal of Bankruptcy Law and Practice (West and Westlaw).  
7.  Articles must be submitted before March 31, 2018.  
8.  Candidates will be informed of the final decision of the Jury on or before April 30, 2018.  
9.  All contributions should be sent to the III c/o Shari Bedker at and must be marked as submissions for the III Prize in International Insolvency Studies, 2018.  
10.   The Gold Medal Prize will be US $3,000; the Silver Medal Prize will be US $2,000; the Bronze Medal Prize will be US $1,000; and up to 6 Finalist Prizes of US $500 may be awarded.  
11.  The Gold Medal Winner will be invited to attend the III’s Eighteenth Annual Conference in New York in September, 2018 to present their work and the III will cover his/her reasonable travel expenses. All Medal Winners and Finalist Prize recipients may attend the 2018 Annual Conference and their Conference registration fees will be waived.

Connect with Members

Login to participate in discussion forums,access your members' only documents, or access committee information.To find a fellow member and view their profile fill out the form below.

Find a Member