Insolvency Institute

2020 III PRIZE in International Insolvency Studies

The International Insolvency Institute is pleased to announce the winners of its 2020 Prize in International Insolvency Studies. This year's Prize in International Insolvency Studies comprises a Gold Medal Prize for the winning submission as well as a Silver and Bronze Medal Prize. The Prizes are accompanied by an honorarium for the Medal winners.

Click here to view the recording  from the 2021 and 2020 awardees presented at the 2021 Annual Conference.

Gold Medal Winner
Ilya Kokorin, Leiden Law School, The Netherlands
Intra-group Finance

Silver Medal Winner
Oriana Casasola, University of Huddersfield, UK
The Harmonisation of Transaction Avoidance in the European Union: A Solution of Compromise

Bronze Medal Winner
Luis Aroche, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico
The Municipal Insolvency Procedure in Mexico As A Necessity

The III Prize is awarded for original legal research, commentary or analysis on topics of international insolvency and restructuring significance and on comparative international analysis of domestic insolvency and restructuring issues and developments. The Prize Competition is open to full and part-time undergraduate and graduate students and to practitioners in practice for nine years or less. Entries must not have been published and must be available to be posted on the International Insolvency Institute website at Entries will be judged by a jury of seven distinguished international academics. Medal-winning entries will be considered for publication in the Norton Journal of Bankruptcy Law and Practice (West) and for inclusion in the Westlaw electronic database. Submissions are traditionally scholarly length law review articles or chapters of a manuscript. Full-length manuscripts would not be appropriate; any submission more than 20,000 words will not be considered. Entries must be received by March 15, 2020.

The Gold Medal winner will be honored at the III's 21st Annual International Insolvency Conference in Sao Paulo, Brazil on June 14-15, 2021. All Medal Winners and Finalists will be invited to attend the Conference and will be provided with complementary Conference registration. Medal Winners will also be nominated to Class IX of the III NextGen Leadership Program which will convene in Sao Paulo June 13, 2021 prior to the III's 2021 Conference. For further details and the terms of the III Prize in International Insolvency Studies, please contact III Administrative Director Shari Bedker ( or III NextGen Coordinator Brandi Gehman (

Summary of Terms and Conditions

The International Insolvency Institute will award its 2020 Prize in International Insolvency Studies, for outstanding writing, research or analysis in the insolvency field. The terms of the 2020 Prize Competition are as follows:

1. Candidates must be full or part-time undergraduate or graduate students, researchers or practitioners in practice for less than nine years. A CV should display the candidate's status.

2. The article or research must be on an international or comparative insolvency topic and must be submitted in English.

3. Articles or research in preparation for publication are eligible as long as they were not published.

4. Candidates may submit only one contribution.

5. The Jury may decide not to award the Prize if, in its opinion, no contribution of sufficient quality has been submitted.

6. Entries must be eligible and available to be posted on the III website and published in the Journal of Bankruptcy Law and Practice (West and Westlaw).

7. Articles must be submitted before March 15, 2020.

8. Candidates will be informed of the final decision of the Jury on or before April 15, 2020.

9. All contributions should be sent to the III c/o Shari Bedker at and must be marked as submissions for the III Prize in International Insolvency Studies, 2020.

10. The Gold Medal Prize will be US $3,000; the Silver Medal Prize will be US $2,000; the Bronze Medal Prize will be US $1,000; and up to 6 Finalist Prizes of US $500 may be awarded.

11. The Gold Medal Winner will be invited to attend the III's 21st Annual Conference in Sao Paulo in June 2021 to present their work and the III will cover his/her reasonable travel expenses. All Medal Winners and Finalist Prize recipients may attend the 2021 Annual Conference and their Conference registration fees will be waived.

Connect with Members

Login to participate in discussion forums,access your members' only documents, or access committee information.To find a fellow member and view their profile fill out the form below.

Find a Member